Dra Neus Domingo



Short Bio
Borned in Igualada (Catalonia), 1977. Graduated in Physics at Universitat de Barcelona (UB) in 1997, where I also obtained my PhD in 2005 in the field of molecular magnetism and Single Molecular Magnets with a FPU fellowship from the MECD (Spain). The title of my Ph.D. thesis is “Magnetism on high spin molecules and nanoporous materials” and my adviser was Prof. Javier Tejada Palacios. I continued my research as a Postdoctoral Researcher at the Istituto di Struttura della Materia (CNR) in Rome, (Italy) for a couple of years with Prof. Dino Fiorani, where I specialized in the study of magnetic nanoparticles systems and Exchange Bias effects.
Interested on the study of phenomena of nanoscale objects at the nanoscale, I joined the CIN2 in 2008 under a Juan de la Cierva Fellowship where I focused my research on surface nanostructuration. Here is where I got bewitched by Atomic Force Microscopy, an area in which I became autodidact and has since then prevailed as my research unifying thread. Following this life motive, in 2011 I integrated into ICN2 as a Ramon y Cajal Researcher to provide the Oxide Nanophysics Group with my complementarly skills on magnetism and force microscopy, and leading the research lines devoted to nanoscale studies.

From 2016, I lead my own research group “Advanced AFM Lab”, a Research Platform of the Insitut Català de Nanociència i Nanotecnologia (ICN2), CSIC and the Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST).

Institutional Responsibilities
Member of Scientific International Boards: International Symposium on Ferroic Domains, PFM Workshop, Fuerzas y Túnel
2013- Present:  Chair of Equal Opportunities Committee of ICN2
2011– present:  Member of the Board of Directors, Foundation ATENEU IGUALADÍ

Commissions of Trust
2015- present: External Expert, EC
2011- present: Evaluation Panel, Agencia Nacional de Evaluación y Prospective (ANEP), Spain
2010- present: Referee for major international journals: NPJCompumats, Nat Commun, Scientific Reports, IEEE Electron Device Letters, Appl.Phys.Lett., Nanotechnology, Journal of Physics:Conference Series, Nanoscale, Nanoscale Research Letters.

Membership of Scientific Societies
2017- present: Member of the Materials Research Society.
2017- present: Member of the IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society
2014- present: Member of the Solid State Physics Group (GEFES)/Royal Spanish Society of Physics (RSEF)
2012-2013: Member of the American Physical Society (APS)

Organization of Scientific Meetings
2019 July – Joint f2cp2 conference, PFM Chair, Lausanne, (SW).
2018 Sept – International Symposium on Ferroic Domains, Co-chair, Barcelona, Spain.
2016 Sept – FyT2016 International Conference, Co-chair, Girona, Spain.
2012 Nov – Workshop on Applied Science for young potential researchers, Chair, Igualada, Spain
2005-06 July   International Workshop on Nanomagnetism, Organizing Committee, Coma-ruga, Spain

Supervision of Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows
2017 – Irena Spasojevic, PhD Student, ICN2
2017 – Christina Stefani, PhD Student, ICN2
2017  Elzbietha Pach, Postdoc
2014-2018 Kumara Cordero-Edwards, PhD Student, ICN2
2012-2016 Jackeline Narvaez, PhD Student, ICN2
2014-2016 James Zapata PostDoc, Postdoc
2014-2015 Irene González, Master UAB
2014-2015 Helena Lozano, Master UAB
2013-2014 Laura López-Mir, Master UAB
2011-2012 Jackeline Narváez, Master UAB
2009-2010 Franco Rigato, Postdoc
2007-2008 Víctor de la Peña O’Shea Master UB

Since 2017 Invited Lecturer Winter School/ Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology
2013 – 2018 Invited Lecturer Master of Advanced Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Local Probe Microscopies
2010 – 2011 Invited Lecturer Master of Materials Science, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Molecular Materials and Devices 
2004 – 2005 Associated Professor Fundamental Physics Department, University of Barcelona
2000: Fundamental Physics @ ASES Academy (1 year)

Awards & Fellowships
2016: Dr. Jackeline Narváez “Flexoelectricity in Single Crystals”- GEFES Prize for the best thesis in Condensed Matter Physics – Best experimental thesis
2015: The paper ‘Giant reversible nanoscale piezoresistance at room temperature in Sr2IrO4 thin films’, appointed as a Hot Paper by Nanoscale magazine
2014:  I3P Certificate Award for “Excellence in Scientific Career” MINECO, Spanish Gov.
2010: Acreditació Profesor Agregat – AQU Generalitat de Catalunya
2008: Acreditació Profesor Lector – AQU Generalitat de Catalunya
2004: IX ICMM Prize (best Student Contribution award)

(2011-15) Ramon y Cajal Fellowship  MICINN, Spanish Government  (top 5% of awarded candidates); (2008-10) Juan de la Cierva Fellowship, MINCYT, Spanish Government; (2001-05) FPU PhD Fellowship, MINECO, Spanish Government; (1998-99) I.A.E.S.T.E. International Scholarship for international mobility of degree students